On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need a Queen-size fitted pad rather than a blanket or throw?
The exact plan is White Queen BR55-4074; other size codes are not part of this plan.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require separate independent adjustment for the two sides?
The manufacturer lists two controllers and two separate temperature zones, but does not state that each side can be set independently; this need remains unverified.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a maker-described cool-touch face important, with at least five settings?
The exact route describes cool-to-the-touch fabric and lists five settings; no measured cooling or heat output is claimed.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the fitted pad support an 18-inch mattress?
The manufacturer feature list says fit up to 18 inches; its separate +15D item notation is retained as an unresolved wording difference.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a selectable timer or more than ten hours?
A 10-hour auto shutoff is listed, but an adjustable range is not established.
Explore this need in the finder →The Beautyrest Cool Touch Heated Mattress Pad BR55-4074 is the white Queen version of a fitted bed warmer, not a loose electric blanket. It is worth considering when you want a cool-to-the-touch sleeping surface with two separate manufacturer-listed temperature zones. The manufacturer lists five settings and a 10-hour shutoff, but does not document an adjustable timer range in the inspected product record.

Image source and model notes
Queen sizing is the first decision
This model goes beneath your regular top bedding and fits a Queen mattress. The exact manufacturer item record calls it BR55-4074, White Queen, and describes a 60-by-80-inch pad with a separate “+15-inch” depth notation. A different feature statement says the fitted pad fits mattresses up to 18 inches high. Those are two distinct manufacturer descriptions; the listing does not explain their relationship, so do not treat the 15-inch notation as a revised maximum mattress depth. If your mattress is taller than 18 inches, this is not a documented fit.
That size-specific identity matters more than the shared Cool Touch name. The manufacturer route shows separate item numbers for Twin, Twin XL, Full, Queen, King and California King. BR55-4074 is the Queen plan only. The King sibling BR55-4075 is not a substitute when your fitted bed size is Queen, and this review does not roll the other sizes into one selectable configuration.
Cool surface and heat are separate claims
Beautyrest describes the face as cool-to-the-touch when the heat is off and says the pad has five heat settings. That may appeal if you do not want to remove a fitted pad during warmer months. It is still a material description, not a measured cooling result; the manufacturer gives no temperature drop, warmth output or time-to-heat result. Five steps are enough only if you are comfortable choosing among those settings without a published temperature scale.
The manufacturer’s feature list specifies two separate temperature zones and two controllers for Queen, King and California King sizes. That is a documented split-zone arrangement, but the inspected item record does not say whether each side can be adjusted independently. If independently chosen left/right temperatures are essential, treat that capability as unknown until the exact supplied instructions or a reliable model-specific source confirms it. The detail is not inferred from the two handsets shown in the image. If you need one controller, a Twin or Full sibling is a different size configuration and must be assessed on its own.
The same feature list says there is a 10-hour automatic shutoff. It does not state whether you can select a shorter or longer time, so a requirement for an adjustable timer—or a minimum setting beyond the documented shutoff—cannot be assumed met. The listed power cord is six feet and the controller cord is 12.5 feet. They are separate lengths, not a guarantee that the wall outlet will be near your chosen controller location.
Fit and textile details deserve a close read
The manufacturer’s exact item data describes a cool-touch face made from 67% olefin and 33% polyester, 100% polyester filling, a nonwoven wire channel and a 15-inch polyester skirt. Those details make the word “cool” more specific than an unsupported retailer adjective, but they do not tell you how the surface will feel in your room or how warm it will feel when powered. If material percentages or a different face fabric are an essential requirement, compare the stated fibers rather than relying on the product name.
The manufacturer calls the pad machine washable and lists a five-year limited warranty. The exact disconnection steps, wash cycle, drying method and warranty exclusions were not available in the product record I inspected. Do not put the controls or leads through a wash, and consult the booklet supplied with the exact item before cleaning. The maker also claims overheating and extra-hotspot sensing technology; I found no independent safety test, certificate number or performance measurement for this review.
Who should shortlist it—and what to compare
Shortlist BR55-4074 if you need a fitted Queen pad with a maker-documented two-controller/two-zone layout, can use a five-setting controller, and value the maker-described cool-touch surface. Do not assume each side can be set independently: that control detail is not documented in the inspected item record. Skip it if you need a mattress deeper than the published 18-inch maximum, more than five heat levels, a specified wattage or voltage, waterproof construction, or a confirmed adjustable shutoff range. Those are not small preferences when you intend to make them hard filters.
If you prefer a warmer-feeling plush top and more temperature steps, compare the reviewed Serta ST55-0185 Queen pad. Its source-backed plan lists a plush surface, ten settings and a selectable one-to-12-hour shutoff; it makes a different trade rather than reproducing the cool-touch claim. If your bed is King, compare Beautyrest BR55-4075 instead, but check that exact size record rather than treating a Queen controller statement as proof of every sibling’s package.
My practical verdict is narrow: this is a promising Queen-specific, dual-zone option when cool-touch fabric and straightforward scheduled shutoff matter. Its strengths are the documented size, five settings, two controls and maker-stated fit limit. Its limits are equally important: the timer adjustability, drying details, electrical ratings and measured warmth are not established here. No hands-on use or independent performance testing is claimed.
Key details at a glance
| Manufacturer model number | BR55-4074 |
|---|---|
| Item format | Fitted heated mattress pad |
| Face and reverse fabric (manufacturer wording) | Cool touch fabric |
| Available sizes and dimensions in this reviewed range | queen |
| Heat settings | 5 |
| Documented auto-off interval | Manufacturer feature data states a 10-hour automatic shutoff; no selectable range or shorter setting is documented in the inspected primary record. |
More specifications and setup details
| Published power-cord length | 6 ft |
|---|---|
| Power supply | corded |
| Overheat protection stated by manufacturer | Yes |
| Limited warranty | Manufacturer feature text lists a five-year limited warranty; terms and exclusions were not inspected. |
| Machine washable | Yes |
| Manufacturer drying directions | Machine wash is listed, but detailed controller-removal, wash-cycle and drying instructions were not found in the inspected manufacturer record. |
| Published maximum mattress depth | 18 in |
| Exact finish variants in this reviewed family | white |
| Listed physical controller count | 2 |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Keep the exact size and controller in view.
Check the exact model, form, size SKU, controller arrangement, material wording and care manual before choosing a retailer offer.