Model assessment · Berkshire Home Company

Berkshire Home Co. Heated VelvetLoft Blanket review

A loose bed-top blanket in Twin, combined Full/Queen or King size, with a ribbed VelvetLoft surface, eight listed heat levels and an eight-hour automatic shutoff.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

E0817 Cream Berkshire E0817 heated VelvetLoft blanket folded to show its ribbed surface and integrated control
Official manufacturer image for E0817 Cream, associated in the exact product JSON with SKUs E0817-TW-008, E0817-QN-008, E0817-KG-008. Exact size comes from the SKU mapping, not image scale. Photograph-versus-render status is not stated. Berkshire Home Company — official exact product/variant image
A useful fit for

A bed user wanting a listed Twin, combined Full/Queen or King top blanket with an elevated ribbed VelvetLoft surface, eight numbered heat settings, an eight-hour automatic stop and a listed 15-foot cord. Choose one of five finishes and its exact size SKU.

The main tradeoff

The current maker page does not document the number of independently controlled sides, a shorter selectable timer, wattage, weight or a model-specific manual. It gives a dryer method that conflicts with the current heated-item FAQ, so dryer suitability remains unknown. The combined Full/Queen listing is one footprint/SKU, not separate Full and Queen blankets.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which E0817 bed footprint and finish fit your setup?

Choose an exact Twin (62 × 84 in), combined Full/Queen (84 × 90 in), or King (100 × 90 in) plan. The Full/Queen choice is one maker SKU for each color, not separate Full and Queen blankets.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do eight settings and a listed 15-foot cord meet your requirements?

The manufacturer lists eight adjustable steps and a 15-foot cord. It does not publish measured temperatures or separate cord sections. A nine-level or 16-foot essential minimum is not met.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the stated automatic shutoff fit your routine?

The product page states automatic shutoff after eight hours, without a shorter selectable range. It can match an eight-hour-or-longer minimum, but not a maximum cutoff of four hours.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are two independently adjusted sides essential?

The public E0817 page does not identify separate left/right controls. If two independent settings are essential, do not treat this plan as confirmed for that need.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Berkshire Home Company E0817 is a bed-sized heated top blanket, not a fitted pad. Its maker lists eight heat settings, an eight-hour automatic shutoff and a 15-foot cord. The useful distinction is the ribbed VelvetLoft surface and the choice of Twin, Full/Queen or King footprint. The product page does not establish the number of independently controlled sides, so do not choose it on the assumption that each sleeper can set a separate temperature.

Choose the footprint and exact finish first

The manufacturer lists Twin at 62 × 84 inches, Full/Queen at 84 × 90 inches, and King at 100 × 90 inches. Full and Queen are one shared size option and one SKU per finish, not separate Full and Queen products. Measure the bedding you use and decide how much overhang you want; a bed-size label is not a mattress-depth or drape guarantee. The E0817 is a top layer rather than a fitted cover, so it has no published pocket depth or mattress-retention fit.

Listed sizeDark SageAged LeatherAmherst GreyAronaCream
Twin
62 × 84 in
E0817-TW-248E0817-TW-79VE0817-TW-84LE0817-TW-71BE0817-TW-008
Full/Queen
84 × 90 in
E0817-QN-248E0817-QN-79VE0817-QN-84LE0817-QN-71BE0817-QN-008
King
100 × 90 in
E0817-KG-248E0817-KG-79VE0817-KG-84LE0817-KG-71BE0817-KG-008
Dark Sage E0817 heated VelvetLoft blanket folded to show its dobby-rib surface and integrated touch control
The official Dark Sage image is associated with the Twin, Full/Queen and King E0817 Dark Sage SKUs. The image shows a folded ribbed blanket and control patch; it does not establish size or independent side controls. Berkshire does not identify this image as a photograph or digital render.
Aged Leather E0817 heated VelvetLoft blanket folded on a light background
Aged Leather finish, as named by the manufacturer. Exact size comes from the selected SKU, not the product image.
Amherst Grey E0817 heated VelvetLoft blanket folded to show its ribbing
Amherst Grey finish. The folded image is a finish reference, not a scale comparison.
Arona blue E0817 heated VelvetLoft blanket folded on a white background
Arona finish, shown in the manufacturer's exact E0817 product imagery.
Cream E0817 heated VelvetLoft blanket folded to show its ribbed surface and touch control
Cream finish. The product-page association connects this image to the three Cream size SKUs.

VelvetLoft is a named surface, not a measured warmth rating

Berkshire describes the E0817 as VelvetLoft with a dobby-rib texture, calling it smooth, velvety plush with raised ribs. Its stated material is 100% polyester, and the maker presents an OEKO-TEX Standard 100 certification claim. Those are product-page claims, not an independent fiber test or warmth measurement. The ribbed textile gives the blanket a visible surface character when it is folded or spread over a bed, which can matter if you want the heated layer to remain part of the room's look rather than disappear under a fitted cover. Five listed finishes are individually pictured above; screen color is not calibrated, so use the exact color and SKU rather than treating a web image as a guaranteed shade match.

Eight heat levels and an eight-hour stop

The page lists eight adjustable settings and an automatic shutoff after eight hours. A count of levels is not a temperature scale: no degree range, heating curve or comparative output is published. The product photographs and feature text show an EZ Touch control embedded in the blanket. They do not establish a detachable remote, separate heat zones, or independently adjusted left and right sides. If two sleepers need different settings, that needs to be confirmed from the instructions for the exact SKU before choosing it. The published cord length is 15 feet, but the product page does not separate power-lead and controller-lead measurements. A hard requirement for a particular shorter timer, a distinct controller count or more than eight heat levels points away from the documented configuration.

Care instructions have a consequential disagreement

The E0817 product page gives a detailed wash sequence and allows either air/line drying or a five-minute high-heat automatic-dryer finish before reshaping and hanging to finish. Berkshire's current heated-item FAQ instead tells owners to air/line dry heated products only. Because those instructions conflict, do not assume that a dryer is safe: follow the sewn-in label supplied with the exact blanket and the more conservative current manufacturer guidance unless Berkshire confirms otherwise for its SKU. The general heated-product support page says to disconnect the cord before washing, keep the controller dry, avoid wet use, and never tuck, scrunch or ball up the heated product while operating it. That support page specifies 120 V, 60 Hz and describes a five-year limited warranty subject to its terms; it is not a substitute for a full E0817 operating manual.

Who should choose it?

The E0817 makes sense when you want a decorative, ribbed bed blanket in a listed Twin, Full/Queen or King footprint, and the eight-step control and advertised eight-hour shutoff fit your routine. Pick the exact finish and code from the table; Full/Queen is one combined listing. Look elsewhere if you need a fitted mattress pocket, documented mattress-depth fit, a known weight, a known wattage, a proven dual-control arrangement, cordless operation or a cutoff under eight hours. A person who needs seated coverage may prefer a dedicated 50 × 60-inch throw instead. A buyer seeking a fitted under-sheet layer should compare a mattress pad, not assume this top blanket stays in place like one. For more controller steps and a shorter maximum timer, compare a bed blanket such as Sunbeam 32810136, while checking its own size-specific plan rather than transferring E0817 details.

Before buying or using any Berkshire heated blanket, compare the sewn-in tracker label with the CPSC's 2023 Berkshire heated-blanket and throw recall notice; that notice specifies tracker-number ranges, not just color or appearance. The exact E0817 style code is not one of the listed ranges, but a style-code comparison cannot replace checking the product label. See the manufacturer's E0817 page, its heated-product use and warranty information, and its heated-item care FAQ for current instructions.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer model numberE0817
Item formatBed-sized blanket
Face and reverse fabric (manufacturer wording)VelvetLoft dobby rib
Available sizes and dimensions in this reviewed rangeTwin / Full/Queen / King
Heat settings8
Documented auto-off interval8-hour automatic shutoff stated by maker; selectable shorter range is not published.
Published power-cord length15 ft
Power supply120 V AC, 60 Hz per general Berkshire heated-product support; exact E0817 booklet not located.
Limited warrantyBerkshire heated-product support describes a five-year limited warranty subject to original-purchaser, normal-use and care terms; no claim about transferability.
Machine washableYes
Manufacturer drying directionsExact page permits air/line dry or five-minute high-heat dryer finish; current heated-item FAQ says heated products air/line dry only. Treat dryer safety as unknown; follow the exact sewn-in label and conservative current instructions.
Controller arrangementThe maker describes an EZ Touch button/controller embedded in the blanket. Number of controllers, separate side controls and independent zones are not specified.
Product weightNo exact product weight published in reviewed pages.
Exact finish variants in this reviewed familyberkshire_dark_sage / berkshire_aged_leather / berkshire_amherst_grey / berkshire_arona / berkshire_cream

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Keep the exact size and controller in view.

Check the exact model, form, size SKU, controller arrangement, material wording and care manual before choosing a retailer offer.