Model assessment · Serta

Serta Plush Heated Mattress Pad — Queen, King & California King review

A corded, fitted heated mattress pad in three individually identified U.S. size configurations: Queen ST55-0185, King ST55-0186 and California King ST55-0187. Exact manufacturer item data lists 10 heat settings, a selectable 1–12-hour auto-off timer, a 15-inch knit skirt, a manufacturer-stated fit up to 18-inch mattress height, and two separate temperature zones/two controllers for these three sizes.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Serta Plush heated mattress pad family shown on a bed with two wired controller handsets; Queen, King and California King configurations
Official Olliix image linked from the exact Queen, King and California King item records. It shows the white quilted pad on a bed with two wired handsets, matching the manufacturer-listed two-zone/two-controller size family. The graphic does not print an exact size or model code; the manufacturer does not identify whether it is a photograph, composite or digital rendering. Olliix / JLA Home exact item records for Serta ST55-0185 Queen, ST55-0186 King and ST55-0187 California King share this official product-family image.
A useful fit for

A corded, fitted mattress pad for a household with an exact Queen, King or California King bed and a mattress/topper stack no deeper than the manufacturer-stated 18 inches. It is an under-mattress-covering format, not a portable top blanket or throw.

The main tradeoff

The product page lists ten heat settings, a selectable 1–12-hour auto-off, a 15-inch knit skirt and two controllers/zones on Queen, King and California King. It does not confirm independent setting of the two zones, exact washing/drying instructions, wattage or fiber percentages. The manufacturer says machine washable and ETL certified; exact terms and markings should be checked with the supplied item documentation.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which exact fitted-bed size do you need: Queen, King or California King?

The reviewed plans are three separate model codes: Queen ST55-0185 at 60 × 80 inches, King ST55-0186 at 78 × 80, and California King ST55-0187 at 72 × 84. The Twin, Twin XL and Full siblings are not substituted by this review.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the exact pad have a published mattress-depth limit of at least 18 inches?

The manufacturer says fit mattresses up to 18 inches high and separately describes a 15-inch knit skirt. Measure your mattress and topper together; a deeper stack is not supported by these claims.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a timer that can be set to run for at least twelve hours?

The exact item record lists a 1–12-hour auto-off range. It does not support a minimum requirement above twelve hours.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are two independently adjustable bed sides essential?

The Queen, King and California King records list two separate temperature zones and two controllers but do not document independent adjustment. Treat independence as unknown; this pad should not satisfy an essential two-independently-controlled-sides requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Serta Plush Heated Mattress Pad is a fitted, corded bed layer rather than a blanket you pull over your shoulders. This assessment covers three exact U.S. configurations: Queen ST55-0185, King ST55-0186 and California King ST55-0187. The product information describes ten heat settings and a selectable one-to-twelve-hour shutoff. It also lists two controllers and two separate temperature zones for these three sizes. Those claims make it worth considering when you want warmth built into a particular mattress size, but they do not answer every fit, control or care question.

Choose the code that matches the bed

These are not interchangeable dimensions. Queen ST55-0185 is listed at 60 × 80 inches, King ST55-0186 at 78 × 80 inches, and California King ST55-0187 at 72 × 84 inches. All three have a 15-inch knit skirt. The King pad is listed two inches wider than the common 76-inch mattress width, while the California King plan is narrower and longer; compare the stated pad size with your mattress rather than selecting by the word “King” alone. A Queen plan will not cover a King surface just because the product name is shared.

The manufacturer states that the fitted pad can accommodate a mattress up to 18 inches high, but it also describes a 15-inch knit skirt. Those are separate claims, not a promise that every unusually thick mattress or topper will stretch comfortably. Measure the mattress with any topper that will remain in place, and stay within the published maximum. If your setup is near the limit, ask the seller or manufacturer to clarify before buying. Do not treat the “15-inch” product title as an 18-inch fit guarantee by itself; the actual maximum is stated separately.

Heat levels, zones and shutoff

The exact item records list ten heat settings and a timer adjustable from one through twelve hours. More numbered steps give you more choices on the controller, but they do not tell you the surface temperature at each setting or how quickly the entire pad warms. The manufacturer’s description calls the plush top cozy and says warmth is distributed evenly; no independent temperature map or performance measurement is published here.

For Queen, King and California King, the manufacturer lists two controllers and two separate temperature zones. That is useful evidence that these sizes have two control positions rather than one controller for the whole bed. However, the product information reviewed does not explicitly say that the two zones can be adjusted independently. If separate temperatures on each side are essential—especially for two sleepers—do not infer that capability from two controllers alone. Beurer’s UWB70 Queen and UWB80 King pages and shared manual explicitly describe independent sides and separate body/feet adjustment; those are clearer alternatives for that requirement, though their timer tops out at nine hours rather than twelve.

The one-to-twelve-hour timer can accommodate a shopper who wants the control to offer a twelve-hour selection. It does not mean the pad should be left running without following its own instructions, and an auto-off feature is not a substitute for safe setup. The manufacturer also lists overheating protection. That is a manufacturer feature statement, not an independent safety test.

Surface and laundry details

Olliix describes the top as raschel plush, the filling as light bonded polyfill, the underside as nonwoven fabric, and the skirt as 15-inch knit. That construction is more specific than a generic “soft fleece” label, but fiber percentages and pad weight are not stated. Choose this fabric only if a plush, quilted surface suits your bedding; shoppers who need cotton, a verified fiber percentage or a different texture should compare another exact model instead.

The product data says machine washable, but a model-specific instruction booklet with the wash cycle, water temperature, controller removal sequence and drying method was not available in the examined product materials. Those are important operating details for a powered textile. Use the care instructions included with the exact size you receive; do not assume a dryer setting or transfer directions from a different Serta pad. The listed five-year manufacturer warranty also has terms and eligibility conditions that are not detailed in the brief product record, so review the paperwork supplied with the exact purchase.

There is a certification detail worth checking if it is part of your buying checklist: the manufacturer item record says “ETL certified,” while the exact Home Depot page’s certification panel has no certification or listing entry. That panel may simply be incomplete, but it is not a second confirmation. Treat ETL as the manufacturer’s stated claim and inspect the rating label and paperwork rather than treating this review as a safety certification.

What changes with your answers?

Select mattress pad if you want a fitted warming layer, and then select the exact Queen, King or California King size you need. The size answer changes which ST55 code and footprint is eligible. A documented depth requirement above 18 inches should reject all three plans. A twelve-hour timer minimum can be met; a requirement above twelve cannot. A requirement for independently adjustable sides should also reject this result because that control behavior is not established, even though two controls and two zones are listed.

The manufacturer also lists Twin ST55-0182, Twin XL ST55-0183 and Full ST55-0184 siblings. Their exact size codes should not be treated as covered by these three plans. In particular, the Full description specifies one controller while the shared product image shows two; the Twin and Twin XL control count is not stated in the inspected exact text. The family image and controller claims are therefore used only for the Queen, King and California King group.

Choose this pad when the exact footprint, plush top, 10 settings and one-to-twelve-hour timer fit your priorities and you are comfortable checking the supplied care and certification paperwork. Choose a top electric blanket or throw if you want a layer to drape over you or move between rooms. Choose a model with explicit independent-side controls if that is a must-have; two controllers alone are not enough to prove it. Those distinctions matter more than the shared Serta name across several different electric-bedding formats.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer model numberST55-0185 / ST55-0186 / ST55-0187
Item formatFitted heated mattress pad
Face and reverse fabric (manufacturer wording)Raschel plush top (manufacturer wording)
Available sizes and dimensions in this reviewed rangeQueen 60 × 80 in + 15 in skirt (ST55-0185) / King 78 × 80 in + 15 in skirt (ST55-0186) / California King 72 × 84 in + 15 in skirt (ST55-0187)
Heat settings10
Documented auto-off intervalManufacturer product data lists a selectable 1–12-hour auto-off timer; detailed control operation is not established without the exact manual.
Published power-cord length6 ft
Power supplyCorded; manufacturer item data lists a six-foot power lead and an eleven-foot controller lead. Exact voltage/wattage were not found in the inspected item data.
Overheat protection stated by manufacturerYes
Limited warrantyManufacturer item data and exact retailer page state a five-year manufacturer warranty; exclusions, registration and eligibility terms are not detailed here.
Machine washableYes
Manufacturer drying directionsManufacturer says machine washable, but no exact manual/wash cycle/detachment/drying method was located. Follow the instructions supplied with the exact purchased size; do not infer a dryer setting.
Controller arrangementFor Queen, King and California King, exact manufacturer data lists two separate temperature zones and two controllers. It does not say in the inspected item text that each zone can be independently set; unknown is not treated as independent.
Published maximum mattress depth18 in
Exact finish variants in this reviewed familywhite
Listed physical controller count2

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Keep the exact size and controller in view.

Check the exact model, form, size SKU, controller arrangement, material wording and care manual before choosing a retailer offer.